Fashionably Late New Year’s Resolution

I’m not a fan of new year’s resolutions, but as 2008 stormed in just over two weeks ago, I felt that I had a good enough reason to make one for the first time in many a moon. I recalled just how many times (and especially in the last two years) that I had been angry at myself for not watching enough films created outside of this country. Nearly every time I watched a foreign film, (which was all too spread apart and rare) I was enchanted and floored far beyond most of the American stuff I see on a daily basis. So my new year’s resolution, which has been in effect since the turn of the year but is only now officially being announced, will be to dedicate myself to watching at least 50 foreign language films in 2008…and hopefully I will write about each one.

I feel good about this and am very optimistic that I can stay true to this promise to myself. Of course, that’s what everyone says about their resolutions in January, I’m sure. However, I do have proof that I’m off to a decent start. I have already viewed two of the foreign films, one Italian and the other Chinese, that I’ve been meaning to see for the longest time. Here they are…

2008
FOREIGN FILM PROJECT

VIEWING #1

VIEWING #2
Ang Lee's brilliant masterwork.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Fashionably Late New Year’s Resolution”

  1. asshat mcgarnigle Says:

    the last foreign film i saw was Amelie. It’s probably the best of few foriegn films I have seen.

  2. Ferguson Says:

    It is a very fine film. I suggest getting into them more and more in the coming years and beyond. They are far superior to most of the things produced in the States.

  3. Robert Says:

    I have been on a foreign film kick lately, as well. Recently, I saw a handful of Kurosawa films, & I rented A Very Long Engagement & have plans to watch that tomorrow evening after the games.

    I saw Cloverfield tonight. If you’ve seen it, I would love to know your thoughts on it. I enjoyed practically every moment of it.

    Also, we need a Top 10 of ’07 from you here soon.

    Hope to talk to you soon, brother.
    -Robert

  4. Amanda Says:

    hun your resolution makes me so happy.
    I hope I watch many a films with ya.
    I’m so glad I got to see Cinema Paradiso, it was beautiful.
    And you finally watched Eat drink man woman!!! thank you
    🙂

    This is wonderful news…!
    love you love.

  5. Ferguson Says:

    Thanks so much for reading my stuff, Robert. Which Kurosawa films have you watched of late? I know his films are going to certainly be high on my list for the foreign film project. I’ve recently picked up one of his films, RAN, from a used bin…which was like finding treasure amidst a heaping pile of rubbish! A VERY LONG ENGAGEMENT was marvelously photographed and well-done, as almost anything Jeunet does is.

    I plan on catching a matinee of CLOVERFIELD sometime this week, as I just couldn’t find time to fit it in this past weekend. I have heard nothing but good to great things about it, so I will have high hopes when I finally do see it.

    About the delay for my 10-best films list this year – I am waiting until I see P.T. Anderson’s THERE WILL BE BLOOD to make a concrete and final compilation, which will be by the end of this coming weekend.

    It was great to hear from you, man. Let’s get together sometime soon and talk about the arts and such, for real.

  6. Ferguson Says:

    Girl, I want to watch every movie ever made with you! Seeing PARADISO for the first time is a one-of-a-kind experience, and I did it with you! Thanks for finally forcing me to sit down and watch EAT DRINK MAN WOMAN. It was unbelievable, to say the least. Ang Lee is a master.

    Love you.

  7. Robert Says:

    “RAN” was amongst the Kurosawa films I watched, which as I understand it is an adaptation of KING LEER.

    I got into Kurosawa because I have been really into westerns lately; it turns out the best westerns EVER are just adaptations of Kurosawa films (“A Fistful of Dollars” = “Yojimbo”, “Once Upon A Time In The West” = “Seven Samurai”).

    We definitely need to get together, brother. (765) 635 – 9950. Call me any time. =)

Leave a Reply

