A Comparison of Lists…

My friend Robert Mathison recently requested that I do a Top 5 Coen Brothers list, as well as a Top 10 Clooney Performances compilation. I took that offer, but under only one condition – that he do the same and I post both of them side by side, comparing our tastes with each. Here is how they stack up…

Robert’s 5 Favorite Coen Brothers Films

1.The Man Who Wasn’t There
2.No Country For Old Men
3.The Big Lebowski
4.Fargo
5.O Brother, Where Art Thou?

My 5 Favorite Coen Brothers Films

1.No Country For Old Men
2.Fargo
3.Blood Simple
4.The Man Who Wasn’t There
5.Miller’s Crossing

Robert’s 10 Favorite Clooney Performances

1.From Dusk Till Dawn
2.The Good German
3.O Brother, Where Art Thou?
4.Michael Clayton
5.Solaris
6.Syriana
7.Good Night, and Good Luck.
8.Confessions of a Dangerous Mind
9.Three Kings
10.The Perfect Storm

My 10 Favorite Clooney Performances

1.Michael Clayton
2.Out of Sight
3.Syriana
4.Solaris
5.Three Kings
6.One Fine Day
7.From Dusk Till Dawn
8.The Good German
9.O Brother, Where Art Thou?
10.The Thin Red Line

You have just witnessed another list posting, which can also be called a “getting by” post, simply to fill up space until I decide to write something useful again.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “A Comparison of Lists…”

  1. striderdemme Says:

    Here’s my top 5 for the Coens. You won’t find this one anywhere else, I assure you:

    1. No Country for Old Men
    2. Fargo
    3. Barton Fink
    4. Raising Arizona
    5. Intolerable Cruelty

    I don’t know Clooney half as well as I should like, so here’s a quick tentative 5 list:

    1. Good Night, and Good Luck
    2. Michael Clayton
    3. O Brother, Where Art Thou?
    4. Intolerable Cruelty
    5. Ocean’s 11

  2. striderdemme Says:

    Man, I really need to rewatch The Man Who Wasn’t There and Miller’s Crossing.

  3. Ferguson Says:

    Hey, thanks for adding your choices! And yes, you should certainly check out both of those Coen films, and “Blood Simple” if you haven’t already…

  4. striderdemme Says:

    Oh I’ve seen them all; just need to revisit the ones that I watched while extremely tired. 🙂

  5. Ferguson Says:

    Ah, I see. I’ve done that too, way too many times actually.

  6. Robert Says:

    Nice. I have never seen “Miller’s Crossing.” Looks like we’ll have to watch that.
    Good stuff, my friend. Coffee soon? Call me.

Leave a Reply

