“Where I’m Calling From”

The other day I was reading some short stories from the terrific author, Raymond Carver. It was in the opening page of “What Do You Do In San Francisco?” that a certain line struck a chord inside of me, very sharply. “A man who isn’t working has got too much time on his hands, too much time to dwell on himself and his problems.” This is so true.

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to ““Where I’m Calling From””

  1. Rodger Jacobs Says:

    I read a good one in “What We Talk About” last night; “Mr. Coffee and Mr. Fixit” in which a man muses about coming upon his 65-year old mother making out on the couch with an old family friend. First-person narrative, very colloquial.

    My all-time favorite Carver story is “Kindling” (posthumously published by Tess Gallagher in Esquire many years ago) and the Carver poem I am most fond of is “Your Dog Dies.”

  2. Ferguson Says:

    I am currently into “Where I’m Calling From”, the first time really diving into Carver’s stuff, and I am completely amazed and involved. I will definitely have to check out “What We Talk About…” next. He is such a fascinating writer.

  3. Rodger Jacobs Says:

    Hia narrative — to whatever extent editor Gordon Lish reshaped it — is stripped down and bare, brutal candor about human failings. Other writers in the same vein are Larry Brown, Thom Jones, Barry Hannah, Frank O’Connor, and Willy Vlautin. I am presently writing a profile of Vlautin for Pop Matters (his new novel, “Northline”, came out this month) so I find myself immersed lately in the work of the aforementioned writers, though I have been an admirer of Carver for over a decade.

    You might try Carver’s poetry, too. “Ultramarine” is a good place to start.

Leave a Reply

