Ranting and (Arguably) Raving

Things that have been happening lately:

1) This afternoon I filmed a music video with Corey, but the editing of it will not be finished tonight, due to an excruciating migraine that I developed some twelve hours ago and it continues to eat away at my brain. I am very excited to finally find myself picking up the camera again. The footage was fun and will be even more of a good time to edit, which I entirely miss doing. I can say that you will want to check it out upon its completion, which will most likely be tomorrow. It features a song by Dan Deacon.

2) I have officially put an end to the disease of being unable to watch films at home, which I was diagnosed with several months ago. It is unknown as to what the cure to this was, but I am happy to say that I came out of it all without entering chemotherapy. It is a great feeling to be watching some of the films I missed out on lately.

3) In the very, very near future I will have consistent time with an awesome new laptop, which I am confident will help me finally make good on my promise to deliver more frequent reviews on this establishment. I think there’s no betting against the combination of Panera Bread, dark and vibrantly brewed coffee, an XPS laptop, and me. I will make it happen.

4) A list of the films that I have viewed in the past five days, all of which I plan to have words to write about and to make available for you to read…

5.21: Hannah Takes the Stairs
5.21: George A. Romero’s Diary of the Dead
5.22: Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull
5.22: Wristcutters: A Love Story
5.23: The Diving Bell and the Butterfly
5.23: Delirious
5.23: Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull
5.24: Teeth
5.25: The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford
5.26: You Kill Me
5.26: Sleuth
5.26: The Hunting Party

5A) Tomorrow, two good things will be happening. Immediately when I wake up I will be going to rent the three films that are seeing new release and that I have been anticipating for months. The one that is most desired is the James C. Strouse-directed, John Cusack-acted, and Clint Eastwood-scored, Grace Is Gone. It was sadly never released at the Keystone Art Cinema as it was promised. The same has also happened with this year’s David Gordon Green-directed Snow Angels, which I will never fully get over. If you know me, then chances are you know that Cusack has always been one of the highest actors on my list, and with this newest role being considered among his best, I cannot wait for tomorrow morning. Another film on the list of three promising releases this week is Woody Allen’s latest effort, another attempt at all-out drama, Cassandra’s Dream. It had a couple weeks of runtime earlier this year at the Art Cinema, but I just couldn’t manage to make it out. Tomorrow I will watch it and give my apologies to the great Allen for missing my first film of his in theaters since 1999’s Sweet and Lowdown. The third film of the trio, and the one I chose to watch as the finale of them all, is Paul Schrader’s The Walker, in which it seems Woody Harrelson gets another chance at a significantly dominant starring role in the vein of Natural Born Killers, and The People vs. Larry Flynt. Perhaps I am saving the best for last? I will soon find out.

5B) Later on in the day I will be going to an interview, which I fully expect to nail in the easiest of ways. Needless to say at this point, I am extremely unhappy with my IMAX projectionist job…or was I extremely unhappy with the IMAX projectionist job that I spontaneously quit? If that question lingers inside your head as you’re reading this, then there is even more reason to watch the music video Corey and I filmed today. The answer is there. Anyway, some new directions will most likely be starting tomorrow, regardless.

6) I have become exhausted with the A-F rating system that I have used on films for the past I don’t know how long. I have reached back to the 1-4 stars that I began with in the very beginning…I’m talking about classic Frankton High School “Fergy Reviews” column days. How has it already been 8 years since journalism class? That’s sort of scary.

7) Last weekend, filming began on the latest full-length Neckbrace Substitute film. I will not reveal much on this under-wraps project, but I will tell you that it is a documentary collaboration with Tony Marshall and an extension of various members of his family. I hope you all will watch when we finish it in July and have it available later that month.

That is all that seems to be happening right now. I am happy that things are apparently keeping my mind occupied on being productive. FERGUSON REVIEWS will not fall into nothingness with constant delays between posts. I am making this a place to cuddle up in and stay. Grab a beverage or something and make yourself feel at home. What’s mine is yours.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Ranting and (Arguably) Raving”

  1. fiendinacloud Says:

    DARK AND VIBRANT AS HELL

  2. Ferguson Says:

    No doubt.

Leave a Reply

