My 50 Favorite Albums of 2008: #37

Number 37

The second production project from Danger Mouse on this list, The Black Keys’ Attack & Release, was the first record he was a part of in the year that would see him take a surprising push in a very diverse direction. I’ve always been a moderate fan of the bluesy-rock duo since first hearing them on 2002’s The Big Come Up, but other than the impressive album, Rubber Factory, I think they’ve come short of creating full records worthy of praise, and I could only take them in small doses…until now. Attack does right from the beginning, with “All You Ever Wanted” grabbing the listener’s attention with a firm grip. The number rivals the powerful opening of Rubber‘s “When the Lights Go Out” as the best opener they’ve delivered so far. There are extremely subtle additions to their trademark sound by Danger Mouse peppered throughout the record, but they are important enough to make the finished product come out as a small enough departure from what we’re accustomed to from the tag team, and they are better off for it. They’ve never sounded as together as they do on standouts like “Things Ain’t Like They Used To Be” (which I can guarantee you’ll see on My 100 Favorite Songs of 2008 list), or “Psychotic Girl”, which is the most Danger Mouse-influenced track on the record. It’s definitely the most consistently re-playable album they’ve released so far, and it’s rekindled  a new attraction to their sound for me.

1.All You Ever Wanted
2.I Got Mine
3.Strange Times
4.Psychotic Girl
5.Lies
6.Remember When (Side A)
7.Remember When (Side B)
8.Same Old Thing
9.So He Won’t Break
10.Oceans & Streams
11.Things Ain’t Like They Used To Be

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “My 50 Favorite Albums of 2008: #37”

  1. Bob Bland Says:

    GREAT album! I think it’s their best since thickfreakness. Made #7 on my list.

  2. Ferguson Says:

    I agree that this one is great, and I consider it their finest achievement so far.

Leave a Reply

