My 50 Favorite Albums of 2008: #21

Number 21


Even with all of the rousing acclaim Fleet Foxes have gotten (and are still getting) for their self-titled debut, I think the infectious pop that comes from New York’s Vampire Weekend, has got to be the most sought-after new discovery of 2008. When I say sought-after, I don’t necessarily mean the best debut of the year (which I’ve already declared my favorite to be Bon Iver), I just mean it’s the one out of all the newcomers that have had the biggest and fastest widespread impact. In a matter of what seemed like no time, this group of Cambridge graduates went from being unknowns that played small venues for minimal crowds, to being bombarded with critical acclaim for their first LP, and within months were being displayed on the shelves of every retail store in the nation. Yes, even Wal-Mart carries your beloved Vampire Weekend CD. It was one of the earliest releases of the year (late January), and yet it has still remained talked-about to this day, and for all of the praise they have gotten, I think it is certainly deserved. Some have called them overrated and just another Strokes reincarnate, but I think this is just fantastic, simple, entertaining pop music at its finest. When opener “Mansard Roof” kicked in for the first time to my ears, I knew I would like Vampire Weekend; and by the time the second track, “Oxford Comma” drew to a close, I knew I was going to fall in love with this band. There are so many solid single tracks on this album that it doesn’t take long to decide that it’s all just a solid, solid offering altogether, and an absolute stunner of an introduction. “The Kids Don’t Stand A Chance” is one of the best ways a recorded ended in 2008, and it gives way to a much-anticipated follow-up in the future.

1.Mansard Roof
2.Oxford Comma
3.A-Punk
4.Cape Cod Kwassa Kwassa
5.M79
6.Campus
7.Bryn
8.One (Blake’s Got A New Face)
9.I Stand Corrected
10.Walcott
11.The Kids Don’t Stand A Chance

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

