3.29.2009: Song of the Day

Poke
written by Scott Hutchison
performed by Frightened Rabbit

Poke at my iris
why can’t I cry about this?
maybe there is something that you know that I don’t
we adopt brand new language
communicate through pursed lips
and you try not to put on any sexy clothes or graces
I might never catch a mouse
and present him in my mouth
to make you feel you’re with someone
who deserves to be with you
but there’s one thing we’ve got going
and it’s the only thing worth knowing
it’s got lots to do with magnets and the pull of the moon
why won’t our love keel over as it chokes on a bone?
and we can mourn its passing and then bury it in snow
or should we kick its cunt in
and watch as it dies from bleeding
if you don’t want to be with me
just say and I will go

We can change our partners
this is a progressive dance but
remember it was me who dragged you up to the sweaty floor
this has been a reel, I’ve got shin-splints
and a stitch from weed
but like a drunken night it’s the best bits that are colored in
we should look through some old photos
I adored you in every one of those
If someone took a picture of us now they’d need to be told
that we had ever clung on tight
and maybe not with arms at night
I’d say she was his sister but she doesn’t have his nose
and now we’re unrelated
and rid of all the shit we hated
but I hate when I feel like this and I never hated you

A piercing track from their outstanding 2008 album, The Midnight Organ Fight, that never gets old.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

